ATRN Leadership Committee 2021-2022

Chair

Kelly Brunst, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Environmental Health
College of Medicine
University of Cincinnati
kelly.brunst@uc.edu
513.558.1723

Immediate Past-Chair
Melissa Thomas, PhD, MSPH, MSA, MCHES®, C-CHW
Assistant Professor, Department of Primary Care
Ohio University
thomasm5@ohio.edu
740.593.2217

Secretary
Kathy Hosig, PhD, MPH, RD
Associate Professor & Public Health Extension Specialist
Department of Population Health Sciences
Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine, Virginia Tech
Director, Center for Public Health Practice and Research
Co-lead, Community & Collaboration Core, integrated Translational Health Research Institute of Virginia
khosig@vt.edu
(540) 231-6637

Chair-Elect

Brianna Sheppard, PhD
Associate Director of Research, West Virginia University Office of Health Affairs 
Co-Director Community Engagement & Outreach, West Virginia Clinical and Translational Science Institute 
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Dept. of Social and Behavioral Sciences, WVU School of Public Health 
West Virginia University
absheppard@hsc.wvu.edu 
304.293.1444 

Treasurer
Rajan Lamichhane, PhD
Assistant Professor, Biostatistician 
Department of Clinical and Translational Sciences (DCTS)
John C. Edwards School of Medicine
Marshall University
lamichhaner@marshall.edu
304.691.8648

Members 

Eugene J. Lengerich, V.M.D., M.S. 
Director, Office for Cancer Health Equity
Associate Director, Health Disparities and Engagement, Penn State Cancer Institute
Director, Public Health Preparedness Option, Master of Professional Studies in Homeland Security and Graduate Certificate
The Pennsylvania State University 
elengerich@psu.edu 
717.531.6141



Gia Mudd-Martin, PhD, MPH, RN, FAHA
Associate Professor, College of Nursing
Director of Community Engagement and Research
University of Kentucky Center for Clinical and Translational Science
gia.mudd@uky.edu
859.257.4204



Ashley G. Hall, MS
Research Project Manager, Community Engagement and Participant Recruitment, University of Kentucky Center for Clinical and Translational Science (CCTS)
ATRN Newsletter Editor
agtayl3@uky.edu
859.323.7375

Pamela Salsberry, PhD, RN, FAAN
Associate Dean, Community Outreach and Engagement
Professor, Health Behavior and Health Promotion, College of Public Health
Director, CCTS Community Engagement
The Ohio State University
salsberry.1@osu.edu


 
   

About the ATRN

The Appalachian Translational Research Network (ATRN) is committed to addressing the significant health challenges and disparities specific to Appalachia by enhancing research collaborations to speed the translation of scientific discoveries to health improvements for this region.

The ATRN seeks to foster Community Engagement and Outreach to those in the Appalachian region. In addition, the ATRN will serve as a conduit for enhancing T1 research collaborations in areas relevant to the chronic health conditions prevalent in Appalachia.

Contacts

atrnheadquarters@gmail.com
412-343-2437
461 Cochran Road
Pittsburgh, PA 15228

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software